Grammar Lesson 15:


HSK is a standardized test of Chinese language proficiency for non-native speakers. HSK stands for Hànyǔ Shuǐpíng Kǎoshì (汉语水平考试).

漢語 / 汉语 (hàn yǔ) = Chinese language
水平 / 水平 (shuǐ píng) = standard
考試 / 考试 (kǎo shì) = exam, test

The HSK test is similar to the English TOEFL, the Japanese JLPT and the Taiwanese TOCFL.

The HSK consists of a written and an oral test.

The test is held at designated test centers in China and abroad.

On this site you can learn words according to HSK levels if you are preparing for this test.

Under "Words > Words by HSK Level" you will see all 6 HSK levels. You can also set up a new list ("Words > Manage Lists > Add Word List") and practice HSK words.